MOLD TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Mold Town Council held at County Hall, Mold on Wednesday 16th May 2012.

PRESENT:

Councillors: Hadyn Bateman, Chris Bithell, Richard Brookes, Geoff Collett, Geoff Darkins, Ray Dodd, Bob Gaffey, Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd, Geoff Matthias, Andrea Mearns, Anthony Parry, Phil Thomas and Gareth Williams with the Clerk and Finance Officer and Town Centre Manager.

1. SID MATTHEWS' COMMUNITY AWARDS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Ray Dodd, referred to the achievements and exceptional voluntary work undertaken by this year's recipients of the 'Sid Matthews Community Awards' and expressed his delight in presenting the awards to:

- 1.1) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Local Youth Organisation" Bryn Coch School Athletics Team; and
- 1.2) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service by an Individual" Mr. Malcolm Bruce.

2. RETIRING MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Ray Dodd, commented initially on the final few weeks of his Mayoral year referring to the Continental Market, the launch of the Flintshire Foodbank, Y Ffin festival, Virgin Art Exhibition and the 'Pass on a Smile Day'.

The Mayor advised that he had attended in excess of 70 functions and events throughout the year. He advised that it had been a privilege to serve as Mayor for the third time and expressed his thanks to the Council for that opportunity. Thanks were also expressed to the Clerk and Town Centre Manager for their work and support.

Finally the Mayor welcomed the new Members of the Council and expressed his desire that they strive to work together as a team for the benefit of the Town and its residents.

3. DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE & VACANCY

The Clerk reported that all councillors had signed the Declarations of Acceptance of Office by Members.

4. ELECTION OF MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Robin Guest and seconded by Councillor Andrea Mearns, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Geoff Collett be formally elected as Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

In accepting the position of Mayor and thanking Members for the privilege bestowed upon him, Councillor Collett signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor then congratulated Councillor Ray Dodd for the excellent manner in which he had undertaken the duties of Mayor during the past year. He also thanked the Councillors who had retired for the service they have given to the Town and its residents over a period of many years.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Geoff Collett be formally elected as Mayor for the ensuing year 2012 / 2013.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Bryan Grew and seconded by Councillor Chris Bithell, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Robin Guest be formally elected as Deputy Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Robin Guest be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year 2012 / 2013.

6. BANK MANDATES

Resolved: It was resolved:

- 6.1) To authorise any two Members of the Council together with the Clerk and Finance Officer to sign cheques on behalf of the Town Council; and
- 6.2) To authorise the Clerk and Finance Officer to arrange bank transfers on behalf of the Town Council.

7. SUBSCRIPTIONS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve membership, in the forthcoming year, of the following organisations: One Voice Wales, Association of Burial Authorities, British Trust for Conservation Volunteers, Wrexham – Birkenhead Rail Users Association and Cittàslow UK.

8. OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

Resolved: It was resolved that the Council be represented on the following organisations as follows:

- 8.1) Abbeyfield Society Councillor Geoff Matthias.
- 8.2) One Voice Wales Councillors Richard Brookes and Bryan Grew.
- 8.3) Daniel Owen Community Association Councillors Bob Gaffey and Geoff Matthias.
- 8.4) Police and Community / County Councillors Councillor Brian Lloyd.

- 8.5) Alyn Works Liaison Committee Councillors Geoff Darkins, Bob Gaffey, Geoff Matthias and Brian Lloyd (West Ward Members).
- 8.6) Mold 2000 Councillors Geoff Collett, Andrea Mearns and Gareth Williams.
- 8.7) Parkfields Management Committee Councillor Andrea Mearns.
- 8.8) Mold Town Concert Band Management Committee Councillor Geoff Darkins.
- 8.9) Mold Darby and Joan Hall Committee Councillor Richard Brookes.

9. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Resolved: It was resolved to appoint the following members to the standing committees of the Council as detailed below:

- 9.1) Cemetery Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Chris Bithell, Bob Gaffey, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd, Geoff Matthias and Andrea Mearns.
- 9.2) Tourism Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Richard Brookes, Chris Bithell, Carol Heycocks, Andrea Mearns, Anthony Parry and Phil Thomas.
- 9.3) Planning Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Bryan Grew, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd, Andrea Mearns, Anthony Parry and Gareth Williams.

It was noted that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ex-officio voting members of the above three committees.

- 9.4) Personnel Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Hadyn Bateman and Bryan Grew.
- 9.5) Budget Sub-Group The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Chris Bithell, Ray Dodd and Bryan Grew.
- 9.6) Audit Sub Committee Councillors: Hadyn Bateman, Geoff Darkins, Bob Gaffey, Geoff Matthias, Anthony Parry and Phil Thomas.
- 9.7) Community Awards Panel 4 members: Councillors Richard Brookes, Bryan Grew, Carol Heycocks and Gareth Williams.
- 9.8) Financial Assistance Review Panel 4 members: Councillors Richard Brookes, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd and Andrea Mearns
- 9.9) Cittàslow Mold All Members of the Council.

10. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve the previously circulated schedule of meetings for the forthcoming year subject to the meeting in October being held on Thursday 25th October 2012.

11. MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

Resolved: It was resolved to note the record of attendances.

12. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked Members and guests for their attendance and invited them to join him for refreshments in the Jubilee Room.

WORD/MINUTES/MTC/AGMMIN 120516