MOLD TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Mold Town Council held at County Hall, Mold on Wednesday 11th May 2011.

PRESENT:

Councillors: Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Ken Corbett, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Carol Heycocks, Joyce Jones, Brian Lloyd, Tim Maunders, Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams with the Clerk and Finance Officer and Town Centre Manager.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillors: Geoff Darkins, Robin Guest and Stephanie Hulley,

1. SID MATTHEWS' COMMUNITY AWARDS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Chris Bithell, referred to the achievements and exceptional voluntary work undertaken by this year's recipients of the 'Sid Matthews Community Awards' and expressed his delight in presenting the awards to:

- a) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Local Youth Organisation" Ysgol Bryn Gwalia Credit Union;
- b) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service by an Individual" Karen Hodgkinson;
- c) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service by a Local Organisation" The Rotary Club of Mold; and
- d) For "Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Young Person" Robert Davies.

2. RETIRING MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Chris Bithell, commented initially on the final few weeks of his Mayoral year referring to a Charter Night with the Buckley Lions, the Virgin Art Exhibition, a concert by the Mold and District Choral Society and the 'Pass on a Smile Day'. He also commented upon the success of the 'Mold Celebrates' event and thanked all those involved in staging the event.

The Mayor advised that he considered there to be no greater honour than to be elected Mayor and commented that he had attended 94 different events throughout the year.

The Mayor advised the Council of the highlights of his year of office which included the opening of the Lidl Store, 'Mold Salutes' event, Tegeingl Festival, receiving the award for Mold Spring Clean from the Minister, Jane Davidson, the establishment of the Children's and Youth Councils and finally his charity concert when in excess of £2000 had been raised for Nightingale House Hospice.

The Mayor expressed his thanks to his wife Lynn for her support throughout the year and also to the Clerk and Town Centre Manager. Finally he thanked the Deputy Mayor and Members for their support.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Ken Williams and seconded by Councillor Tim Maunders, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Ray Dodd be formally elected as Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

In accepting the position of Mayor and thanking Members for the honour bestowed upon him, Councillor Dodd signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Ray Dodd be formally elected as Mayor for the ensuing year 2011 / 2012.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Bryan Grew and seconded by Councillor Tony Cattermoul it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Geoff Collett be formally elected as Deputy Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Geoff Collett be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year 2011 / 2012.

5. BANK MANDATES

Resolved: It was resolved:

- a) To authorise any two Members of the Council together with the Clerk and Finance Officer to sign cheques on behalf of the Town Council; and
- b) To authorise the Clerk and Finance Officer to arrange bank transfers on behalf of the Town Council.

6. SUBSCRIPTIONS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve membership, in the forthcoming year, of the following organisations: One Voice Wales, Association of Burial Authorities, British Trust for Conservation Volunteers, Wrexham – Birkenhead Rail Users Association and Cittàslow UK.

7. OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

Resolved: It was resolved that the Council be represented on the following organisations as detailed:

- a) Abbeyfield Society Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- b) One Voice Wales Councillors Bryan Grew and Brian Lloyd.
- c) Daniel Owen Community Association Councillors Carol Heycocks and Tim Maunders.
- d) Police and Community / County Councillors Councillor Brian Lloyd.
- e) Alyn Works Liaison Committee Councillors Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Darkins, Joyce Jones and Brian Lloyd.
- f) Mold 2000 Councillors Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams.

- g) Parkfields Management Committee Councillor Andrea Mearns.
- h) Mold Town Concert Band Management Committee Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- i) Mold Darby and Joan Hall Committee Councillor Stephanie Hulley.

8. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Resolved: It was resolved to appoint the following members to the standing committees of the Council as detailed below:

- a) Cemetery Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Chris Bithell, Ken Corbett, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Joyce Jones and Andrea Mearns.
- b) Tourism Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Chris Bithell, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd, Tim Maunders and Andrea Mearns.
- c) Planning Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Tony Cattermoul, Ken Corbett, Bryan Grew, Brian Lloyd, Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams.

It was noted that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ex-officio voting members of the above three committees.

- d) Personnel Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Tony Cattermoul and Bryan Grew.
- e) Budget Sub-Group Councillors Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Ray Dodd and Bryan Grew.
- f) Audit Sub Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors, Ken Corbett, Geoff Darkins, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.
- g) Community Awards Panel 4 members: Councillors Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.
- h) Financial Assistance Review Panel $-\ 4$ members: Councillors Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley and Andrea Mearns
- i) Cittàslow Mold Councillors: Chris Bithell, Geoff Collett, Geoff Darkins, Ray Dodd, Robin Guest and Andrea Mearns.

9. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve the previously circulated schedule of meetings for the forthcoming year.

10. MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

Resolved: It was resolved to note the record of attendances.

11. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked Members for their attendance and invited them to take refreshments.

WORD/MINUTES/MTC/AGMMIN 110511