MOLD TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Mold Town Council held at the Town Hall on Wednesday 13th May 2009.

PRESENT:

Councillors: Andrea Mearns, Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Ken Corbett, Geoff Darkins, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley, Joyce Jones, Brian Lloyd, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams with the Clerk and Finance Officer and Town Centre Manager.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillor Robin Guest

1. SID MATTHEWS' COMMUNITY AWARDS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Andrea Mearns, referred to the achievements and exceptional voluntary work undertaken by this year's recipients of the 'Sid Matthews Community Awards 2009' and expressed her delight in presenting the awards to:

- a) For 'Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Local Youth Organisation': Ysgol Bryn Gwalia Fairtrade Group led by Teacher Mr. Huw Ellis, the children understand this difficult and complex subject and promote how, as consumers, we can make ethical choices through our purchasing power.
- b) For 'Outstanding Voluntary Service by an Individual': Richard Spray always a willing volunteer whenever the need arises.
- c) For 'Outstanding Voluntary Service by a Local Organisation': 'Buzz Ah' an amateur performing arts group created to encourage people with and without disabilities to participate on an equal basis in the arts.

2. RETIRING MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Andrea Mearns referred to the privilege it had been to be Mayor of the Town Council, to chair the Council meetings and to recognise and support the substantial amount of work Councillors undertake.

The Mayor referred to the presentations made to the Council, specifically those by Liberty Properties, Barry Harrison and Salli Edwards of the Citizens Advice Bureau and to the many relevant issues on which the Council was asked to provide its views.

The Mayor reminded Members of the work they undertake as representatives of the Town Council on many key organisations at local, County and national levels. She also referred to the local events supported by the Council, either as lead organisation or as a major supporting body and to the role played by the Council within the many valuable partnerships that have developed.

The Mayor indicated her pride in the Council that, as a group, has found ways to take responsibility and work together to get things done to improve the Town and serve the community of Mold. She thanked the Members and officers of the Council for their unstinting work and voluntary efforts throughout the year and for their support of her as Mayor.

On behalf of the Council, Councillor Bryan Grew paid tribute and gave a vote of thanks, to the retiring Mayor for the manner in which she had undertaken her duties as a superb representative of both the Town Council and the Town itself.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Bryan Grew and seconded by Councillor Ray Dodd, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Tony Cattermoul be formally elected as Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

In accepting the position of Mayor and thanking Members for this honour, Councillor Cattermoul echoed the comments of Councillor Bryan Grew in his tribute to the retiring Mayor.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Tony Cattermoul be formally elected as Mayor for the ensuing year 2009 / 2010.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Ray Dodd and seconded by Councillor Tim Maunders it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Chris Bithell be formally elected as Deputy Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Chris Bithell be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

5. BANK MANDATES

Resolved: It was resolved:

- a) To authorise any two Members of the Council together with the Clerk and Finance Officer to sign cheques on behalf of the Town Council; and
- b) To authorise the Clerk and Finance Officer to arrange bank transfers on behalf of the Town Council.

6. SUBSCRIPTIONS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve membership, in the forthcoming year, of the following organisations: One Voice Wales, Association of Burial Authorities, British Trust for Conservation Volunteers, Wrexham – Birkenhead Rail Users Association and Cittàslow UK.

7. OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

Resolved: It was resolved that the Council be represented on the following organisations as detailed:

- a) Abbeyfield Society Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- b) One Voice Wales Councillor Bryan Grew.
- c) Daniel Owen Community Association Councillors Tony Cattermoul and Carol Heycocks.
- d) Police and Community / County Councillors Councillor Ken Williams.
- e) Alyn Works Liaison Committee Councillors Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Darkins, J. V. Jones and Brian Lloyd.
- f) Mold 2000 Councillors Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams.
- g) Parkfields Management Committee Councillor Andrea Mearns.
- h) Mold Town Concert Band Management Committee Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- i) Local Health Board Locality Forum (Estates Group) Councillor Bryan Grew.
- j) Mold Darby and Joan Club Councillor Stephanie Hulley.

8. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Resolved: It was resolved to appoint the following members to the standing committees of the Council as detailed below:

- a) Cemetery Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors, Ken Corbett, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Joyce Jones, Andrea Mearns and Tim Maunders.
- b) Tourism Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Geoff Collett, Ray Dodd, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Brian Lloyd and Andrea Mearns.
- c) Planning Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Geoff Collett, Ken Corbett, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Brian Lloyd and Ken Williams.

It was noted that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ex-officio voting members of the above three committees.

- d) Personnel Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Geoff Collett and Bryan Grew.
- e) Audit Sub Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors, Ken Corbett, Geoff Darkins, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.
- f) Community Awards Panel 4 members: Councillors Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.

- g) Financial Assistance Review Panel 4 members: Councillors Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley and Andrea Mearns
- h) Cittàslow Mold Councillors: Chris Bithell, Geoff Collett, Ray Dodd, Robin Guest and Andrea Mearns.

9. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve the previously circulated schedule of meetings for the forthcoming year.

10. MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

Resolved: It was resolved to note the record of attendances.

11. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked Members for their attendance and invited them to take refreshments in the Jubilee Room.

WORD/MINUTES/MTC/AGMMIN 130509