MOLD TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Mold Town Council held at the Town Hall on Wednesday 14th May 2008.

PRESENT:

Councillors: Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Geoff Darkins, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley, Joyce Jones, Sheila Powell and Ken Williams with the Clerk and Finance Officer.

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillor Andrea Mearns.

1. SID MATTHEWS' COMMUNITY AWARDS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Joyce Jones, referred to her pleasure in having the honour of presenting the Community Awards and gave details of the community work undertaken by and the achievements of this year's Award winners. The retiring Mayor then presented the "Sid Matthews Community Awards 2008" to:

- 1.1 For "Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Local Youth Organisation" The Bryn Coch Indoor Athletics Team;
- 1.2 For "Outstanding Voluntary Service / Achievements by a Young Person" Lisa Edwards;
- 1.3 For "Outstanding Voluntary Service by an Individual" Nan Bryan, 24 Hazel Grove; and
- 1.4 For "Outstanding Voluntary Service by a Local Organisation" The Parkfields Lunch Club.

2. RETIRING MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Joyce Jones advised the Council of her engagements throughout her year of office, and went on to thank the councillors for their support during the past year.

Members paid tribute to the retiring Mayor for the manner in which she had undertaken her duties throughout the past year as a superb representative of the Town Council and the people of Mold.

Resolved: On the proposal of Councillor Ray Dodd and seconded by Councillor Chris Bithell it was unanimously resolved that a vote of thanks be given to Councillor Joyce Jones for being a wonderful ambassador for the Town throughout the past year.

3. DECLARATIONS OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE & VACANCY

The Clerk reported that all councillors had signed the Declarations of Acceptance of Office by Members and reminded the Council that there was one vacancy on the Broncoed Ward that could be filled by co-option or by further advertisement.

On the proposal of Councillor Bryan Grew, seconded by Councillor Robin Guest, it was unanimously agreed that Mr. Tim Maunders should be co-opted onto the Council.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Mr. Tim Maunders be formally coopted onto the Town Council for the Broncoed Ward.

4. ELECTION OF MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Tony Cattermoul and seconded by Councillor Bryan Grew, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Andrea Mearns be formally elected as Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

Resolved: It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Andrea Mearns be formally elected as Mayor for the ensuing year 2008 / 2009.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Bryan Grew and seconded by Councillor Chris Bithell it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Tony Cattermoul be formally elected as Deputy Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

In taking the chair for the remainder of the meeting, the Deputy Mayor welcomed the new Councillors to the Council. He also expressed his gratitude to the Council for their confidence in him and also to Councillor Joyce Jones for the excellent manner in which she had undertaken the role of Mayor.

Resolved: On the proposal of Councillor Ray Dodd and seconded by Councillor Jack Laing, it was unanimously resolved that Councillor Tony Cattermoul be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

6. BANK MANDATES

Resolved: It was resolved:

- 6.1 To authorise any two Members of the Council together with the Clerk and Finance Officer to sign cheques on behalf of the Town Council; and
- 6.2 To authorise the Clerk and Finance Officer to arrange bank transfers on behalf of the Town Council.

7. SUBSCRIPTIONS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve membership, in the forthcoming year, of the following organisations: One Voice Wales, Association of Burial Authorities, British Trust for Conservation Volunteers and Wrexham – Birkenhead Rail Users Association.

8. OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

Resolved: It was resolved that the Council be represented on the following organisations as detailed:

- 8.1 Abbeyfield Society Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- 8.2 One Voice Wales Councillor Bryan Grew.
- 8.3 Daniel Owen Community Association Councillors Tony Cattermoul and Carol Heycocks.
- 8.4 Police and Community / County Councillors Councillor Ken Williams.
- 8.5 Alyn Works Liaison Committee Councillors Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Darkins, J. V. Jones and Sheila Powell.
- 8.6 Mold 2000 Councillors Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams.
- 8.7 Bubble Gum Club (Junior Youth Club) Steering Group Councillor Geoff Darkins.
- 8.8 Mold Town Concert Band Management Committee Councillor Stephanie Hulley.
- 8.9 Local Health Board Locality Forum Councillor Sheila Powell.
- 8.10 Mold Darby and Joan Club Councillor Stephanie Hulley.

9. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Resolved: It was resolved to appoint the following members to the standing committees of the Council as detailed below:

- 9.1 Cemetery Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Chris Bithell, Ken Corbett, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Joyce Jones and Tim Maunders.
- 9.2 Tourism Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Chris Bithell, Caroline Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Ray Dodd, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks.
- 9.3 Planning Committee full delegated powers 6 members Councillors Geoff Collett, Ken Corbett, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Sheila Powell and Ken Williams.

It was noted that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ex-officio voting members of the above committees.

- 9.4 Personnel Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Geoff Collett and Bryan Grew.
- 9.5 Audit Sub Committee The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors, Ken Corbett, Geoff Darkins, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.
- 9.6 Community Awards Panel 4 members: Councillors Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Tim Maunders and Ken Williams.

- 9.7 Financial Assistance Review Panel 4 members: Councillors Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley and Andrea Mearns
- 9.8 Cittàslow Mold Councillors: Chris Bithell, Geoff Collett, Ray Dodd, Robin Guest, Joyce Jones, Andrea Mearns and Sheila Powell.

11. NOMINATION TO FLINTSHIRE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Resolved: It was resolved to nominate Councillor Ken Williams to represent Town and Community Councils on the Flintshire Standards Committee. .

12. APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITORS

Resolved: It was resolved to appoint 'JDH Public Sector Services' as internal auditor to the Council for the forthcoming year and that consideration be given to undertaking a tendering exercise for the next year (2009 / 10 Accounts).

13. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

Resolved: It was resolved to approve the previously circulated schedule of meetings for the forthcoming year.

14. MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

Resolved: It was resolved to note the record of attendances.

15. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Deputy Mayor thanked Members and guests for their attendance and invited them to take refreshments in the Jubilee Room.

WORD/MINUTES/MTC/AGMMIN 140508