# MOLD TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Mold Town Council held at the Town Hall on Tuesday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2006.

# PRESENT:

Councillors: Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Geoff Darkins, Ray Dodd, Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley, Joyce Jones, Jack Laing, Andrea Mearns, Sheila Powell and Ken Williams with the Clerk and Finance Officer.

# **APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:**

Councillor Phill Lloyd.

# 1. RETIRING MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Ray Dodd advised the Town Council that he had recently passed the 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary of his original election as a Councillor and remarked that there had been no better way of celebrating that landmark than by serving his community as Town Mayor.

The retiring Mayor referred to the many highlights of his year of office, particularly, those events that related to highlighting the activities of the young people of the Town.

The retiring Mayor thanked the Deputy Mayor and Councillor Carol Heycocks, as immediate past Mayor, who have deputised for him when the need has arisen. He also thanked his fellow Councillors for their support and the honour granted to him to represent the Town and the Town Council over the past year.

The retiring Mayor then presented a cheque for £3,000 to the Mr Selwyn Evans, Chair of Finance for the Flintshire & District Eisteddfod 2007. Mr Evans thanked the Town Council for the contribution.

# 2. INSTALLATION OF MAYOR

On the proposal of Councillor Robin Guest and seconded by Councillor Chris Bithell, it was unanimously agreed that Councillor Bryan Grew be installed as Mayor of Mold Town Council for the ensuing year.

Councillor Dodd invited the newly elected Mayor to assume office and Councillor Grew duly signed the declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Mayor thanked Members for their support and the privilege bestowed upon him. He also paid tribute to Councillor Ray Dodd for the manner in which he had undertaken his duties as Mayor throughout the year. The Council supported these comments. **Resolved:** It was unanimously resolved that Councillor Bryan Grew be installed as Mayor for the ensuing year 2006 / 2007.

# 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

**Resolved:** On the proposal of Councillor Jack Laing and seconded by Councillor Tony Cattermoul, it was unanimously resolved that Councillor Joyce Jones be elected as the Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

#### 4. BANK MANDATES

**Resolved:** It was resolved:

4.1 To authorise any two Members of the Council together with the Clerk and Finance Officer to sign cheques on behalf of the Town Council; and

4.2 To authorise the Clerk and Finance Officer to arrange bank transfers on behalf of the Town Council.

#### 5. SUBSCRIPTIONS

**Resolved:** It was resolved to approve membership, in the forthcoming year, of the following organisations:

One Voice Wales Association of Burial Authorities British Trust for Conservation Volunteers Wrexham – Birkenhead Rail Users Association; and

#### 6. OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS

**Resolved:** It was resolved that the Council be represented on the following organisations as detailed:

6.1 Abbeyfield Society - Councillor Stephanie Hulley.

6.2 One Voice Wales - Councillor Bryan Grew.

6.3 Daniel Owen Community Association - Councillors Tony Cattermoul and Carol Heycocks.

6.4 Flintshire Police Community Consultative Group - All members.

6.5 Police and Community / County Councillors - Councillor Ken Williams.

6.6 Alyn Works Liaison Committee - Councillors Carolyn Cattermoul, Geoff Darkins, J. V. Jones and Jack Laing.

6.7 Mold 2000 - Councillors Andrea Mearns and Ken Williams.

6.8 Parkfields Management Committee - Councillors Andrea Mearns and Sheila Powell.

6.9 Mold Town Concert Band Management Committee - Councillor Geoff Collett.

6.10 Local Health Board Locality Forum – Councillor Sheila Powell.

6.11 Mold Darby and Joan Club – Councillor Stephanie Hulley.

#### 7. COUNCIL COMMITTEES

**Resolved:** It was resolved to appoint the following members to the standing committees of the Council as detailed below:

7.1 Cemetery Committee - full delegated powers - 6 members - Councillors Chris Bithell, Tony Cattermoul, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Joyce Jones, and Jack Laing.

7.2 Tourism Committee - full delegated powers - 6 members - Councillors Chris Bithell, Carolyn Cattermoul, Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Jack Laing and Andrea Mearns. It was agreed to co-opt Councillors Ray Dodd and Geoff Collett onto the Committee.

7.3 Planning Committee - full delegated powers - 6 members - Councillors Tony Cattermoul, Geoff Collett, Phill Lloyd, Andrea Mearns, Sheila Powell and Ken Williams.

It was noted that the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are ex-officio voting members of the above committees.

7.4 Personnel Committee - The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Geoff Collett and Jack Laing.

7.5 Audit Sub Committee - The Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors Tony Cattermoul, Geoff Darkins, Robin Guest, Jack Laing and Ken Williams.

7.6 Community Awards Panel – 4 members: Councillors Bryan Grew, Robin Guest, Jack Laing and Ken Williams.

7.7 Financial Assistance Review Panel – 4 members: Councillors Robin Guest, Carol Heycocks, Stephanie Hulley and Andrea Mearns

# 8. APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITORS

**Resolved:** It was resolved to appoint "JDH Public Sector Services" as internal auditor to the Council for the forthcoming year.

# 9. SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS

**Resolved:** It was resolved to approve the previously circulated schedule of meetings for the forthcoming year.

# 10. MEMBERS' ATTENDANCES

**Resolved:** It was resolved to note the record of attendances.

# 11. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The Mayor thanked Members and guests for their attendance and invited them to join him in taking refreshments in the Jubilee Room.

WORD/MINUTES/MTC/AGMMIN 160506